Bloody Island Historical Landmark

Bloody Island Historical Landmark

Bloody Island — Bo-No-Po-Ti

One-fourth mile west is the island called Bo-No-Po-Ti (Old Island), now Bloody Island. It was a place for native gatherings until May 15, 1850. On that date, a regiment of the 1st Dragoons of the U.S. Cavalry, commanded by Capt. Nathaniel Lyon and Lt. J.W. Davidson, massacred nearly the entire native population of the island. Most were women and children. This act was in reprisal for the killing of Andrew Kelsey and Charles Stone who had long enslaved, brutalized, and starved indigenous people in the area. The island, now a hill surrounded by reclaimed land, remains a sacred testament to this sacrifice of innocents.

Time Period Represented: 19th century

Hours Open:
24 hours/day

Seasons Open:
All seasons

Visitor Fees: No fee

For More Information, Contact:

Office of Historic Preservation
P.O. Box 942896, Sacramento, CA 94296-0001
916-653-6624 · fax 916-653-9824

Bloody Island Historical Landmark

8485 Reclamation Rd, Upper Lake, CA 95485, USA