Fort Humboldt is located on a bluff that overlooks Humboldt Bay. The Fort was established in 1853 to help cease the conflicts between the Native Americans and the settlers. Later it became the headquarters for the Humboldt Military District. Fort Humboldt is well known for its most famous resident Ulysses S Grant, who was stationed at the Fort for six months before resigning. Fort Humboldt was abandoned in 1870 and rapidly fell into decay. The Hospital is the only remaining original building. The Surgeons Quarters was rebuilt and is a replica of the original. The park houses a logging museum that showcases 19th and 20th century logging equipment.
Picnic tables are situated on a grassy plain at the Fort where picnics take place. From May to September the Fort hosts monthly logging equipment “Steam Up” on every 3rd Saturday. The Fort also hosts Dolbeer Donkey Days in April, where logging equipment is operated and logging skills competitions are performed.
Fort Humboldt is accessible all year from 8:00am to 5:00pm.
ADA Accessibility Notes
The Fort is relatively flat and has considerable wheelchair accessiblity.
Pet Friendly Notes
The Fort is pet friendly.
For More Information, Contact:
California State Parks